The Fire Museum of Maryland has the third largest collection on display of any fire museum in the world. Among its collection are 45 antique fire apparatus, memorabilia, fire-fighting equipment, models, and photographs.
The Fire Museum offers thought-provoking, educational tours, and outreach programs for all ages, birthday parties, engine rides, and special events where visitors can see the apparatus in action. Children can dress up in turnout gear, and climb on a 1938 Mack Engine in the Discovery Room. Among the hands-on activities, they can ring the bell on an engine, run the lights, and pull a hose up into the hose tower, and much more!
Visitors can witness the beauty and power of these innovative machines while appreciating the history and selfless work of our nation’s urban firefighters.
The wheeled collection of the Fire Museum contains more than 40 pieces of apparatus. Included in the collection are an early 1800s hand-drawn engine, numerous horse drawn vehicles, and a wide variety of gasoline powered apparatus. Several pieces on display were used during the Great Baltimore Fire of 1904, some remain in their original horse-drawn state while others have been modified over the years to include engines and other modern upgrades. More info on this and other collections can be obtained through our research center.
Our newest exhibit features a large collection of fire-themed prints and early twentieth-century toys donated as a gift from the McLaughlin Company Insurance Agency of Rockville, Maryland. This collection has been photographed and cataloged and is now open to the public. More info on this and other collections can be obtained through our research center.
A fire alarm sounded several minutes before 11 AM, on Sunday, at the John E. Hurst Building, a wholesale dry goods house which stood on the south side of German Street at Liberty in the heart of Baltimore’s business district. It was followed by a mighty explosion which blew out the walls of the building, scattering burning embers in all directions. The raging Baltimore Fire of February 7, 1904, was underway. Nearly 36 hours later it was finally brought under control. More info on this and other collections can be obtained through our research center.
Covering the period from 1852 to the present, the Fire Alarm Office allows visitors to see, hear, and interact with the technological changes that have occurred in fire communications over the course of more than 150 years. Expanded and improved in 2014, the exhibit is more than twice the size of the previous one and incorporates a fascinating array of technology, many working instruments, period lighting, and furniture. Taking visitors through time from 1870 to the present. More info on this and other collections can be obtained through our research center.
The Special Exhibits Room is a multipurpose space that contains our collection of fire-related toys, scale models, and advertising, as well as exhibits on the medical service and fire boats. This is also the room where we host birthday parties, and where caterers can prepare food for larger gatherings. More info on this and other collections can be obtained through our research center.
The Discovery Room at the Fire Museum of Maryland is a place where children of all ages are encouraged to engage their imagination. A 1938 Mack fire engine is available to be explored, turnout gear is provided as well including coats, helmets, and boots everything a child-sized firefighter needs. In addition, there are fire related books, toys, and videos provided to educate and entertain.
The Rare Prints Gallery is a rotating exhibit space, which allows the Museum to display various artifacts in a more climate controlled environment. Currently, on display are items from the McLaughlin Collection. More info on this and other collections can be obtained through our research center.
In 2005, the Museum started the restoration of cast-iron facade elements from Baltimore's Engine Co. #8. The doorway serves as the entry into the 'Life of the Fireman' exhibit. Grants from the 1772 Foundation, Preservation Maryland and significant gifts from private donors have enabled the reconstruction of this facade and a portion of the apparatus floor. More info on this and other collections can be obtained through our research center.
This temporary exhibit looks at the evolution of handheld lighting equipment in the fire service. From candles to flashlights, and their many uses. This collection is assembled from various parts of the museum collection.
NEW Exhibits Coming Soon!
9/11 Exhibit Coming in TBA
This permanent exhibit will take visitors through the events of 9/11, and is designed to facilitate an emotional connection with visitors who did not live through that day. The exhibit has been put together in cooperation with the F.D.N.Y. who was instrumental in locating the artifact for the exhibit. We are still seeking funds of $2,000 to complete this exhibit.
BCFD Mayor Thomas D'Alesandro Jr.
This 1956 fireboat was named after three-term Mayor Thomad D'Alesandro Jr. and serve Baltimore as its frontline boat until 2007 when it was moved to a second line vessel primarily used for training. Eventually, she was sold to a scrapper. Cut off behind the deckhouse and at the waterline, the most iconic part of the boat was saved. We are working to bring this to the museum, but we need your help. Click above to find out more and how you can become a Tommy Partner!